Skip to content

Something Sweet on a Sunday

October 7, 2013

Last weekend was one of the funnest in a long time. It was the perfect combination of relaxing (going to bed at 9pm on Friday night), waking up early and spending the day in London, getting home, eating food, cleaning the flat, then getting ready and heading out again for a friend’s 30th birthday party. Sunday involved relaxing, a spot of shopping, and eating far more sugar than should be humanly normal.

Saturday was VegFest – did any of you guys go? I was supposed to meet up with a whole bunch of people, but thanks to a total lack of signal in the building it didn’t work out. I kept my eyes peeled for friendly faces, so sorry if I missed yours. I brought Trout, my sister and my friend Rach along with me and we did ourselves proud on the free samples front. So many new companies that I’d not heard of before – not that I can remember most of their names…there was a brand who made raw chocolate, and it was the creamiest ‘milk’ chocolate I’ve ever eaten. It was amazing! Trout and I managed to spend £60 between us, so we’re well stocked with cupcakes, doughnuts, cream buns, faux meats, white chocolate, buttery chicken sauce and condensed ‘milk’! The whole day was so much fun – I LOVE trying new products, or just items that I keep meaning to try but don’t get around to. By the way – if you’ve bought the condensed ‘milk’ before, are there any recipes you could recommend to bake with it? I want to make something that I can’t make in any another way (i.e. I can make truffles with soya cream, it doesn’t necessarily need condensed milk). I’m thinking cheesecake?

Sunday mainly involved eating all of the things that we bought on the Saturday. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten so much sugar!! Chocolate twist for breakfast, an Oreo cupcake from Ms. Cupcake after lunch (see photo above!), a chocolate-iced, cream-filled doughnut with Trout in the afternoon, and an apricot danish with Trout in the evening. So good! Newspapers, a reuben, hanging out with Rasputin, watching Trout nap, laundry, and enjoying the sunshine also filled my Sunday – the perfect end to the weekend.

How was your weekend? Did you go to VegFest?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2013 4:04 pm

    You are so lucky to have gotten the chance to go to the VegFest! Ive (planned!) wanted to go for the last few years but never made it – its on my to do list for next year and I WILL be there seeing as I will be living in Brighton! Super excited. Your eats sounded SO yummy!

    • October 9, 2013 1:23 pm

      Yay! I love the one in Brighton – it’s SO crowded as the venue is smaller than London, and pretty much the whole of Brighton and Hove, and some of London, attend – but it’s really fun!

  2. October 7, 2013 5:11 pm

    I was there on Sat! Would have been so lovely to meet you! Another time. I had an awesome time too, tried not to go too crazy with the shopping although inevitably I did buy quite a bit :S
    I’m guessing Ombar for the raw milk chocolate? They use coconut cream and it makes it super creamy. On the condensed milk-front I immediately thought fudge. That’s what we always used it for pre-vegan…or how about dulce de leche? and filling cookies with it?!

    • October 9, 2013 1:25 pm

      YES! Thanks for letting me know – it was Ombar, and they’re going on my Christmas list. So nice! Dulce de leche is definitely going on the list of possibilities – I’ve never had the real stuff but friends have gone wild for it.

  3. October 7, 2013 8:20 pm

    Wowee, sounds like you had a great weekend! Jealous of all your sweet treats though x

  4. October 8, 2013 8:14 am

    Sounds like an amazing weekend! I’ve never been to Vegfest would love to go to one of these foodie festivals some time.

    • October 9, 2013 1:26 pm

      Ooh you would love it! So many different companies, it’s a great way of finding new products and stuffing your face with samples.

Leave a Comment