Skip to content

It’s the kindest heart beating, this side of the blue

July 27, 2012

Yesterday we decided to enjoy the fleeting and final day(s) of summer, with a bbq on the beach. Trout made so much amazing food, it was so nice to have something different to burgers and sausages (although you can’t really beat a charred burger and a cold beer in the summer).
We had vegan chorizo grilled on the bbq, and stuffed into a pain rustique with coleslaw (the best coleslaw I’ve ever eaten!), chipotle mayo, salsa and guacamole, with lettuce. We also had vegan beef chunks marinated in Korean bbq sauce, and turned into kebabs. Trout had corn on the cob, too. Further along the beach you could hardly see past all of the bbq smoke, and most people around us had a similiar plan of how to enjoy the last few moments of what was truly summer – when a cardigan and a glass of wine are enough to warm you, and the sun sets beautifully with seagulls gliding to clear up the last scraps of someone’s dinner.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2012 10:05 am

    this looks like such a fun day :) the food looks delicious

  2. toxicvegan permalink
    July 27, 2012 12:24 pm

    Looks amazing! I need to know more about the coleslaw please!!

    • July 30, 2012 9:27 am

      I will get him to write down the recipe and I’ll post it soonish!

      • toxicvegan permalink
        August 15, 2012 12:24 pm

        Yay – thank you :-)

  3. July 27, 2012 3:33 pm

    That food looks amazing, what a lovely evening. We have had no sun at all in Anglesey this week, we seem to be the only ones missing out! I’ve never been to Brighton, I really fancy a trip!

    • July 30, 2012 9:29 am

      It’s so nice here in the summer – can’t think of anywhere I would rather be! We haven’t had much sun either, though :(

  4. July 28, 2012 2:07 pm

    Oh my goodness Christina, is this Brighton? I honestly go to bed at night and DREAM about doing things like this (sad, I know!)….it looks like so much fun!

    • July 30, 2012 9:28 am

      That’s not sad – I do the same for places like Cambridge and America :) You’re more than welcome to come and join us next time!

  5. August 2, 2012 9:11 pm

    What a perfect summer day! I think I must’ve been about 10 feet away from you guys that day looking at those photos! We didn’t have such fancy food though, I love that you guys put so much effort into your barbie!

    • August 3, 2012 8:47 pm

      Oh really! What a funny coincidence, that’s what I love about Brighton :)

  6. August 8, 2012 5:13 am

    I love the look of those cute little bbqs! What a great idea :)
    xo Emilie @ Hungry Delights

Trackbacks

  1. Sunrise, Sunset « paperbagblog

Leave a Comment