Skip to content

Roadtrip pt.5: Vienna!

September 27, 2013

Last but not least, we have Vienna! I was really excited to visit this city. I’d been dreaming about going for years, so was super happy to finally get around to going. The timing wasn’t the best – we spent the weekend there which meant the city was quite busy, and everything was shut on Sunday! But I still loved walking around the streets and taking in the sights. I wish we’d had more time to explore some of the more unique districts – we started to walk around District 7 which was so nice, full of independent shops and cafes, but we were exhausted from walking around all day and most places were closing as it was nearing 6 o’clock, so we headed back to the hotel. I would love to return one day to explore some more, but who knows when that will be.

I seem to be only posting photographs of architecture in every post! But I can’t help it, we’ve been so lucky with the weather (mostly) and these places are just stunning. I’m also saving most of my foodie photos for the next blog post.

 

 

We travelled to a quieter part of the city to have a walk around this fantastic market that I’d read about. We turned left instead of right and happened to walk through a different market which reminded me of Deptford’s ‘dead man’ market. It was so interesting to walk around the different stalls as they were gradually being dismantled (we didn’t arrive until almost 5pm). Once we’d walked around that market we were back on track to look around the food market that we’d originally intended to go to, and it was amazing. Piles of fresh fruit and vegetables, nuts, spices, fish counters – everything you can imagine! So colourful and exciting.

^^This photo makes me smile. We picked up a whole bunch of ingredients before we left Bratislava – we had a jar of soya mayonnaise, some ‘chorizo’ and a bag of salad and bread, and sat in the car assembling these rolls before arriving at a lake with the intention of eating them by the water’s edge. But when we turned up everything seemed to be closed – all of the gates were locked and there wasn’t a clear way of getting to the water! It was out of season, which may have been the reason. So instead we sat at a bench and could sort-of see the lake, and enjoyed our rolls. It was quite cold, but this little birdy came and joined us which made it even more fun.^^

We also visited an area which a lovely blog reader recommended – The Hundertwasser House. It was so much fun! Again, stuffed with tourists but the building was amazing. I didn’t manage to take any decent photographs, but definitely pay a visit if you’re in Vienna. We also went to the Natural History Museum as it had started to rain. It wasn’t as good as the one in London, but it had a lot of taxidermy which I loved.

Next up I’ll be putting together a blog post on the food that we ate. I hope you find it useful – especially if you ever visit these places and are wondering what veggie and vegan options there are. I’m off to my sister’s hen party this weekend, I can’t believe that in one month’s time we will no longer have the same surname and she will be a married lady! Scary bananas. I’m so excited for the wedding, though. I am certain I will be crying the entire way through – as I seem to manage to do at weddings – it will be a really special day for both of our families.

Have you ever been to Vienna? What was your favourite area to visit?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2013 9:57 pm

    These are SUCH beautiful photos – I really want to visit. I’ve loved all these travelling posts of late – please travel more and keep us updated! (As if anyone needs an excuse) xo

  2. September 29, 2013 2:10 pm

    Your photos are as beautiful as ever :-) Love the story of you making up those rolls to eat, that’s just the kind of thing James and I do to!

    • October 3, 2013 9:38 am

      It does actually make a nice change from eating out all the time! Plus it’s kind of cute to make a little picnic :)

  3. September 30, 2013 5:09 pm

    Yay, I’m really pleased you liked the Hunderwasser House :) enjoying reading about your travels. My sister is getting married too in a few months, I hadn’t even thought about the name change thing. That will be weird for us to have different surnames specially since we work at the same place!

    • October 3, 2013 9:39 am

      It will be hard to get used to! I’m going to cry the ENTIRE way through her wedding, I just know it!

  4. October 2, 2013 4:37 pm

    I’ve been to Vienna twice. The first time was just a quick night lay-over back to the States from Ukraine and was in the winter. All the Christmas decorations were still up and it was really festive and beautiful. I went a second time in late June for a week and it was warm and I had more time to explore. I loved the Naschmarkt, the lovely parks and the area around St. Stephen’s cathedral. Unfortunately, I had food poisoning the entire time I was there so I really didn’t eat much but the food looked lovely. I really want to take my husband there one day.

    • October 3, 2013 9:40 am

      Oh gosh, you poor thing! It’s bad enough having food poisoning at home, let alone when you’re on holiday :( Definitely go back for a second try x

Trackbacks

  1. September, September | paperbagblog

Leave a Comment